Paypal security breech - Fraudulent email

If your post does not fit in any other category, it belongs here

Moderators: KHatch, pose4me, MarkK, Max, wnymodels

Postby Mr Helper on September 18th, 2004, 2:18 am

If you receive an eMail from "PayPal Account Services" <mailer@paypal.com> with the subject Subject: "Important PayPal Account Information" be advised that it is a fraudulent email</>. The eMail ask that you click on a link to update your account information within 24hrs or it will be suspended. They use the USA PATRIOT Act as the reason for the request.

Here is the link to the PayPal [b]"Protect yourself from fraudulent emails and websites"
"There is no Reality, Just Perception"
User avatar
Mr Helper
Photographer
 
Posts: 33
Joined: April 2nd, 2004, 9:54 pm
Location: In front of my computer!

Postby gianmario on September 19th, 2004, 12:10 pm

as a follow up, the same types of emails (asking for passwords, credit cards, etc.) are coming from "eBay" - if you open them, it looks like someone copy and pasted the entire text. these are definitely fraudulent - DON'T CLICK ON THE LINK!
mario
User avatar
gianmario
Member
 
Posts: 9
Joined: April 2nd, 2004, 8:11 pm
Location: Rochester, NY

Postby KHatch on September 19th, 2004, 1:21 pm

Yup, and citibank along with others. It's called fishing. Forward them to spoof@paypal.com, abuse@ebay.com, etc. Type in the domain name (i.e. http://www.citibank.com) manually into your browser to check your account, not the link in the email.

The ones regarding Nigerian investments are ok, though. :D
I have no lid upon my head, but if I did you could look inside and see what's on my mind.
User avatar
KHatch
Photographer
 
Posts: 191
Joined: April 2nd, 2004, 11:42 am
Location: Central, NY


Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron